Viena and Windows 10

All about the SoundFont editor Viena
Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:20 pm

Does Viena run on Windows 10? I'm getting 2 invisible instances when I run the program.

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Admin » Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:55 am

Viena not only runs well on Windows 10, it is being developed on/for Windows 10.
Do you get one visible?

Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:14 am

After reinstalling it, I now get one instance that will not fully open. When I view it through the Task Manager's details, it says that it's "Not Responding" while it consumes about 25% of my CPU's time. I have created a rule in my firewall for Viena but it doesn't change anything so I guess it's not the antivirus.

I've attached 3 images describing the program's behavior.
Viena_Folder.PNG
Installation Folder
Viena_Folder.PNG (60.1 KiB) Viewed 451 times
Viena_StartUp.png
Opening
Viena_StartUp.png (71.83 KiB) Viewed 451 times
Viena_TaskManager.png
Task Manager View
Viena_TaskManager.png (50.48 KiB) Viewed 451 times

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Admin » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:00 am

Right. It looks like it has got struck within one eternal loop. To begin with, download this small program and start it before you start Viena.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7om4w03ye8cff ... 2.exe?dl=0
DBwin32V2 is just a general purpose debugging program so it will write out a lot of texts from other processes but should lokocate the tab that says Viena. There ought to be some text in there:
Image
Just send me the text.

Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:50 pm

Here's the result:
Application.Initialize...
File Version 1.000
C:\Program Files (x86)\Viena\Viena.exe
INIFILE = C:\Users\Sylvain\AppData\Roaming\SynthFont\Viena.ini
ExePath = C:\Program Files (x86)\Viena\
ParamCount=0
ASIOOutputPort=0, MidiInputPort=-1
... then, it freezes and I have to end the task via the Task Manager because simply right-clicking the task bar instance and selecting Close Window doesn't work.

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Admin » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:28 am

Seems to get stuck in a loop...
Here is a version that spells out some more debug information:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ghbm9hopk1zn ... A.rar?dl=0
So please run DBWIN32V2 as well.

This is not only a debug version of the current 1.000 but a test version of the soon to be released 1.010.
(Which I also hope to release as a 64 bit application).

Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:09 pm

Running the debug version:

Application.Initialize...
D:\Useful Software\Viena\Debug Version\Viena1010A.exe
INIFILE = C:\Users\Sylvain\AppData\Roaming\SynthFont\Viena.ini
ExePath = D:\Useful Software\Viena\Debug Version\
ParamCount=0
ASIOOutputPort=0, MidiInputPort=-1
Viena FillPresetPool C:\Program Files (x86)\SynthFont2\GMGSx.sf2
Form show...
...1
...2
... Viena SoundFont Editor [32 bit] (1.010A)
InitAsio ok
... C:\Users\Sylvain\AppData\Roaming\SynthFont\Viena.ini
...WindowState 0
WindowState = 0 - 233,44,1148,678
Note: The program asked me to restore saved configuration and I answered "Yes on All".

Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:15 pm

Running the debug version replacing Viena.exe after installing the last version I have.

Application.Initialize...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Viena\Viena1010A.exe
INIFILE = C:\Users\Sylvain\AppData\Roaming\SynthFont\Viena.ini
ExePath = C:\Program Files (x86)\Viena\
ParamCount=0
ASIOOutputPort=0, MidiInputPort=-1
Viena FillPresetPool C:\Program Files (x86)\SynthFont2\GMGSx.sf2
Form show...
...1
...2
... Viena SoundFont Editor [32 bit] (1.010A)
InitAsio ok
... C:\Users\Sylvain\AppData\Roaming\SynthFont\Viena.ini
...WindowState 0
WindowState = 0 - 345,523,1148,678

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Admin » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:57 am

I reckon you finally got a normal window displayed? Not stuck in any loop?

Singular
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Viena and Windows 10

Post by Singular » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:04 am

no loop. But how does it explain my problem with all the other versions of Viena?

Post Reply