How to change instruments within same track?

All about the development and use of SynthFont2
nekoneko
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:51 pm

How to change instruments within same track?

Postby nekoneko » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:59 pm

Hi, Can someone tell me how to change from one instrument to another within the same track (and back again)?

For example, using a violin track, I would like to alternate arco and pizzacato in different sections of the composition.

Thanks.

Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 am

Re: How to change instruments within same track?

Postby Admin » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:59 am

It's simple, but you need to edit the midi file. You need to insert midi program changes, you can have as many as you want at any time. In SynthFont2 go to the page "3 Midi events". In the list of events, locate the position where you want to have a program change and press "Add new event". Possibly easier is to use the graphical "Controllers" editor below the piano roll on the page "2 Pianoroll" to insert program changes just anywhere. From the drop-down list choose "Program change". Then scroll to the position where you need it and click in the graphics area below the notes area. A menu pops up. Choose what you want.

Once you have the program changes inserted you will se a button with a down arrow in the tracks list on page "4 Plug & Play".

Don't forget to save the midi file.

nekoneko
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:51 pm

Re: How to change instruments within same track?

Postby nekoneko » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:50 am

Thanks. Much appreciated!


Return to “SynthFont2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest